#### STATE OF ILLINOIS

# OFFICE OF THE AUDITOR GENERAL

Release Date: December 30, 2015

William G. Holland, Auditor General

#### SUMMARY REPORT DIGEST

#### GENERAL ASSEMBLY HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Compliance Examination For the Two Years Ended June 30, 2015

FINDINGS LAST AUDIT: 0

FINDINGS THIS AUDIT:

#### **INTRODUCTION**

The Legislative power of the State of Illinois is vested in the General Assembly, which is composed of a 59-member Senate and 118-member House of Representatives.

There were no material findings of noncompliance disclosed during our examination.

#### **ACCOUNTANT'S OPINION**

We conducted a compliance examination of the General Assembly House of Representatives for the two years ended June 30, 2015 as required by the Illinois State Auditing Act. The accountants stated the General Assembly House of Representatives complied, in all material respects, with the requirements described in the report.

WILLIAM G. HOLLAND Auditor General

WGH:jsc

#### **SPECIAL ASSISTANT AUDITORS**

Our Special Assistant Auditors for this examination were West & Co., LLC.

{Expenditures and Activity Measures are summarized on next page.}

## GENERAL ASSEMBLY HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COMPLIANCE EXAMINATION

### For the Two Years Ended June 30, 2015

EXPENDITURE STATISTICS	2	015	20	014		2013
Total Operating Expenditures	\$ 2	5,054,052	\$ 24	4,786,893	\$ 2	25,113,609
Total Receipts	\$	2,286	\$	8,878	\$	17,969
Average Number of Employees (Not Examined)		486		489		475

SELECTED ACTIVITY MEASURES			
(Not Examined)	2015	2014	2013
House Bills Introduced	4,322	2,545	3,765
House Bills Passed House Committees	1,695	938	741
House Bills Passed House	404	433	469
House Bills Passed Both House and Senate	306	283	367
House Bills Vetoed or Amendatorially Vetoed	32	6	7
House Bills Signed Into Law	273	272	361

HOUSE OFFICIALS	
During Examination Period:	Speaker of the House - Representative Michael J. Madigan
	Minority Leader - Representative Tom Cross (through 9-20-13)
	Minority Leader - Representative Jim Durkin (effective 9-21-13)
Currently:	Speaker of the House - Representative Michael J. Madigan
	Minority Leader - Representative Jim Durkin