



622 WILLIAM G. STRATTON BUILDING • SPRINGFIELD. ILLINOIS 62706 • 217/782-7097 • FAX 217/524-9030

### REPORT DIGEST

# **GENERAL ASSEMBLY - SENATE**

Compliance Examination For the Two Years Ended June 30, 2017

Release Date: February 27, 2018

FINDINGS THIS AUDIT	0
FINDINGS LAST AUDIT	0

#### INTRODUCTION

The Legislative Power of the State of Illinois is vested in the General Assembly, which is composed of a 59-member Senate and a 118-member House of Representatives. Its principal activities are enacting, amending or repealing laws, passing resolutions, adopting appropriation bills, and conducting inquiries on proposed legislation.

# **ACCOUNTANT'S OPINION**

The accountants conducted a compliance examination of the General Assembly - Senate for the two years ended June 30, 2017 as required by the Illinois State Auditing Act. The accountants stated the General Assembly - Senate complied, in all material respects, with the requirements listed in the report. There were no material findings of noncompliance disclosed during the examination.

This compliance examination was conducted by Kerber, Eck & Braeckel.

SIGNED ORIGINAL ON FILE

E. Jane Stricklin, Executive Director Legislative Audit Commission

### GENERAL ASSEMBLY - SENATE COMPLIANCE EXAMINATION For the Two Years Ended June 30, 2017

EXPENDITURE STATISTICS	T p	FY17	FY16	FY15
Total Operating Expenditures	\$	20,520,084	\$ 19,365,761	\$ 19,614,269
Total Receipts	\$	5,023	\$ 7,115	\$ 25,140
Average Number of Employees (Not Examined)		335	351	344

SELECTED ACTIVITY MEASURES (Not Examined)	2017	2016	2015
Senate Introduced	2,275	1,251	2,208
Senate Bills Passed Senate Committee	1,130	528	1,218
Senate Bills Passed Senate	422	367	370
Senate Bills Passed Both House and Senate	235	242	254
Senate Bills Vetoed or Amendatorially Vetoed	16	25	33
Senate Bills Signed Into Law	203	222	220

## **SENATE OFFICIALS**

During Examination Period: President of the Senate - Senator John J. Cullerton

Minority Leader - Senator Christine Radogno

Currently: President of the Senate – Senator John J. Cullerton

Minority Leader - Senator William E. Brady