

Legislative Audit Commission

622 WILLIAM G. STRATTON BUILDING • SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 62706 • 217/782-7097 • FAX 217/524-9030

REPORT DIGEST

GENERAL ASSEMBLY – SENATE

Compliance Examination For the Two Years Ended June 30, 2019 Release Date: February 19, 2020

0

0

FINDINGS THIS AUDIT

FINDINGS LAST AUDIT

INTRODUCTION

The Legislative Power of the State of Illinois is vested in the General Assembly, which is composed of a 59-member Senate and a 118-member House of Representatives. Its principal activities are enacting, amending or repealing laws, passing resolutions, adopting appropriation bills, and conducting inquiries on proposed legislation.

ACCOUNTANT'S OPINION

The accountants conducted a compliance examination of the General Assembly - Senate for the two years ended June 30, 2019 in accordance with *Government Auditing Standards* and the Illinois State Auditing Act. The accountants stated the General Assembly - Senate complied, in all material respects, with the requirements listed in the report. There were no material findings of noncompliance disclosed during the examination.

This compliance examination was conducted by Kerber, Eck & Braeckel.

SIGNED ORIGINAL ON FILE

E. Jane Stricklin, Executive Director Legislative Audit Commission

GENERAL ASSEMBLY - SENATE COMPLIANCE EXAMINATION For the Two Years Ended June 30, 2019

EXPENDITURE STATISTICS	FY19	FY18	FY17
Total Operating Expenditures	\$ 20,520,084	\$ 19,365,761	\$ 20,520,084
Total Receipts	\$ 5,023	\$ 7,115	\$ 5,023
Average Number of Employees (Not Examined)	335	351	335

SELECTED ACTIVITY MEASURES (Not Examined)	2019	2018	2017
Senate Introduced	2,275	1,251	2,275
Senate Bills Passed Senate Committee	1,130	528	1,130
Senate Bills Passed Senate	422	367	422
Senate Bills Passed Both House and Senate	235	242	235
Senate Bills Vetoed or Amendatorially Vetoed	16	25	16
Senate Bills Signed Into Law	203	222	203

SENATE OFFICIALS				
During Examination Period:	President of the Senate – Senator John J. Cullerton Minority Leader – Senator Christine Radogno			
Currently:	President of the Senate – Senator John J. Cullerton Minority Leader – Senator William E. Brady			